Question: “How Long Is A Judgment Good For In Florida?”
A domestic judgment is good in the state of Florida for 20 years, but there are some nuances you should be aware of. Number one, a judgment is only enforceable against the property of a debtor if it’s been recorded, and you’ve created a judgment lien. Curiously, those judgment liens only last for 10 years, so after you get a judgment, it’s important to record the judgment, and then re-record it before the expiration of the 10 years, and that way you’ll get the full 20-year statute limitation out of the judgment. Beyond that, if a judgment is about to expire, you can actually bring a lawsuit on an old judgment, and create a judgment on a judgment that gives yourself another 20 years. So, in effect, you could have a judgment forever if it wasn’t collected upon.
* * * * * * * * * *
THIS BLOG IS INTENDED FOR GENERAL INFORMATION PURPOSES ONLY. IT DOES NOT CONSTITUTE LEGAL ADVICE. THE READER SHOULD CONSULT WITH KNOWLEDGEABLE LEGAL COUNSEL TO DETERMINE HOW APPLICABLE LAWS APPLY TO SPECIFIC FACTS AND SITUATIONS. BLOG POSTS ARE BASED ON THE MOST CURRENT INFORMATION AT THE TIME THEY ARE WRITTEN. SINCE IT IS POSSIBLE THAT THE LAWS OR OTHER CIRCUMSTANCES MAY HAVE CHANGED SINCE PUBLICATION, PLEASE CALL US TO DISCUSS ANY ACTION YOU MAY BE CONSIDERING AS A RESULT OF READING THIS BLOG.